FACULTY SENATE MINUTES September 5, 2017

IN ATTENDANCE:

Monty Abbas, Alan Abrahams, Diane Agud, Robin Allnutt, Susan Anderson, Richard Ashley, Osman Balci, Jacob Barney, Carlyle Brewster, James Campbell, John Ferris, Matthew Gabriele, LuAnn Gaskill, Leon Geyer, Ellen Gilliland, Tracy Gilmore, James Hawdon, Bob Hicok, Eric Kaufman, Eric Lyon, Zachary Mackey, Margarita McGrath, Cayce Myers, Philip Olson, David Radcliff, Susanna Rinehart, Hans Robinson, Todd Schenk, Brett Shadle, Stephen Smith, Ryan Speer, David Tegarden, and Kelly Trogdon. (33 senators)

ABSENT:

Mehdi Ahmadian, Marwin Al-Haik, Gregory Amacher, Bryan Brown, Robert Bush, Rami Dalloul, Felicia Etzkorn, Hans Gindlesberger, Sierra Guynn, Roger Harris, Kathy Hosig, Aki Ishida, Sara Jordan, Bradley Klein, Roberto Leon, Shelly Martin, Joe Merola, Mike Nappier, Sean O'Keefe, Marie Paretti, Doug Patterson, John Richey, Ahmad Safaai-Jazi, Tina Savla, Anju Seth, Richard Shryock, Gary Skaggs, Eric Smith, Jim Spotila, Dean Stauffer, Yannis Stivachtis, Cornel Sultan, Benjamin Tracy, Dwight Viehland, Bruce Vogelaar, Layne Watson, and Percival Zhang. (37 senators)

1) Introductory remarks by President Hans Robinson

New officers were introduced.

- 2) Approval of agenda
- 3) Approval of minutes from final spring meeting
- 4) Call for nominations to fill cabinet and commission vacancies

The new FS cabinet is Hans Robinson (COS), John Ferris (COE), Bob Hicok (CLAUS), Tracy Gilmore (LIB), Todd Schenk (CAUS), Alan Abrahams (COB), and Ben Tracy (CALS).

Vacancies remain to be filled from the following colleges: CNRE and CVM.

5) Discussion of UC Resolution 2017-18A: Resolution to Amend the University Council By-Laws As Recommended by the Governance Task Force.

Several years ago, CFA 2015-16B provided for a formal mechanism of consultation with the Faculty Senate during policy formulation by four commissions: The Commission on Faculty Affairs, Commission on Research, Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies, and Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies.

UC Resolution 2017-18A would extend the same consultative process to the three other constituent groups -- staff, undergraduate students, and graduate students. This resolution is only about giving these groups the right to offer "advice and counsel" – it would not allow them to vote on matters before these commissions.

This was only a discussion of the resolution, not a vote.

6) Request from GSA and SGA for FS participation in a statement of support for DACA students.

A motion to support a statement written jointly by the GSA (Graduate Student Assembly) and the SGA (Student Government Association), was passed, with the understanding that the FS cabinet would work with the GSA and the SGA to edit the statement.

That work has already been completed and the statement released.

7) EFARS user input

Hans suggested that every college provide one person to work with Peggy Layne on clarifying issues with the EFAR software.

It was also proposed that we request a formal response to the FS letter from last year in which we spelled out pages of issues with the EFAR system.

7) Discussion on possible ad hoc committee on academic bullying

This is a follow up to a presentation by Karen DePauw last year. She would like to broaden the work of her task force on academic bullying to include faculty. One suggestion is to set up a commission that will work on this from a faculty perspective. The goal of this commission would be to come up with suggestions for how to keep bullying from taking place.

After completion of the agenda, Hans asked if there were any more issues.

The subject of a possible vote of no confidence in the Provost by FS was raised. Given the remaining time, there was limited discussion of this topic.

The meeting adjourned at 7:00.